Matt Conte - Developer Relations Engineering Lead

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hey, I’m Matt Conte, and I
run our Developer Relations Engineering team at Oculus HQ in California. My
team works closely with VR developers on a variety of aspects from performance
analysis to VR design guidance. I came from the games industry, where I started
writing GameBoy Color games in Z80 assembly. Most recently, I worked as an
architect and principal engineer on Activision's cross-platform engine technology,
helping ship games on iOS all the way up through PS4.

I like classic video games,
I’ve written several console emulators, and I own Centipede and Q*bert arcade
machines. @!#?@!

Ask me anything!

Twitter: @mattconte

Reminder: There may be a slight delay from when you send your comment to when you see it in the thread. Don't worry! We've received your question.

52 REPLIES 52

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hey there, fusedotcore. Locomotion is a point of active research in VR and at Oculus. I don't think there will ever be a “one size fits all” solution that will work perfectly for everyone; what we've come to understand is that a buffet-style set of options tends to open up content to the broadest audience possible. Teleport is certainly one of the most comfortable locomotion methods, but as you point out, may not be the most intuitive to users who don't have gaming experience. In this case, i would recommend some light tutorial explaining the controls, with diagrams rather than button names. It's difficult for users to locate, for instance, the A button on the controller when they don't know where it is on the face, or if it's on the left or right controller! A good rule of thumb is to apply the type of locomotion that best fits your application and intended audience.

For more information about enterprise VR check out the new Oculus for Business page we just launched this week at F8 - https://www.oculusforbusiness.com/

Anonymous
Not applicable