cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Quest Unity Local Multiplayer

Atley
Protege
Is there any reason Photon Unity Networking Classic won't work for the Quest?  I'm new to mobile, and it will take me a while to test with multiple Quests, so I'd really benefit from someone who has prior experience with this. 

I'm using OVR (I hear it's necessary to update frequently for Quest dev).  My experience is for five players, and does not require matching at the moment.  However it is local, so I will need to align each player's coordinate system (and continue aligning them over the course of the 10 min experience to avoid drift).

Any heads up about potential issues or recommendations would be much appreciated.  It seems as though Photon Classic is the best way to go, but I am also open to trying PUN 2, U-Net, or anything else that might work better for a local Quest multiplayer experience. 

If you know of any good tutorials or repositories to check out, that would be awesome!!  Thank you in advance!  
27 REPLIES 27

ScraboShepherd
Honored Guest
In the recent weeks I found 3 Teams who already made a similar local multiplayer game with Quest as Oculus promoted the Quest on the Connect event with Dead'n'Buried. The Canadian Phenomena made a game named Versus. It's a "lasertag" shooter game for 1vs1 up to 4vs4 players or maybe more. They using a PC as a server with no internet connection, and the quests connected to this via wifi. There is a team in Vietnam, I have no info about them. And I found an article about a company from New-Zeland on the STUFF dot CO dot NZ site. I'm new here, can't share the links, but here is some names for googling: Phenomena - Verus VR Laser Tag; Oddball - The company from Wellington; Holomia XR - Mission X from Vietnam(Youtube...) .

So there is some light in the mystique of Quest based local multiplayer development. Searching for this knowledge and asking people about this is my daily routine now.