cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Developer mode permissions

Reed-PARC
Honored Guest

I am brand new to the Occulus quest 2. Our school purchased some that are checked out like books to students. Recently a student asked if we could switch one of the four we check out (that are all logged into our schools FB account!)  to developer mode. 

As an admin who runs a computer lab my initial reaction is no way as things could be done at that level that would affect other users. Correct?

My questions are:

• Would developer mode effect all of our four Occulus' or can the permissions be localized. So for example we have one a student could play with to learn from, so if they break things they don't break all?
  • Can I prune permissions in developer mode?
  • What does Developer mode allow?

1 REPLY 1

MetaQuestSupport
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hey Reed-PARC,

Thank you so much for reaching out about developer mode.

To answer your questions: 

1. It should affect just one device, but since there are multiple in question, there is also the possibility that it could affect all of them. 
  2. Once a device is in dev mode, all of the permissions for the device could be easily disabled. 
  3. Developer mode is mostly used for being able to upload content from a computer on to the Oculus device. 

There are a few things you'll need to do in order to complete the set-up process. 

• Create or Join an Organization
    • Before you can put your device in developer mode, you must belong to (or have created) a developer organization on the Oculus Dashboard. 

• Verify Your Account 

• Confirm your mobile number and set up and SMS two-factor verification. -OR-

• Add a payment method to the account. (Paypal Excluded)

• Enable Developer Mode: 

• In your headset, sign into the developer account you want to use for development.

• Go to Devices in the Oculus Android mobile app.