cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Complete newbie! Who needs help.

thomascasson
Honored Guest

Hello all!

I've got 100mb speeds with BT Fibre broadband but I don't have a powerful computer. My Christmas present this year is going to be a Oculus quest 2 but I need help in what level PC I need to run the thing? 

Sorry for the very basic question im sure it has come up countless times before but PC's change every year and for someone who games's on consoles it has never been easy to get into. 

16 REPLIES 16

Dunk3erl3digt
Honored Guest

I think at least a GTX 980 or something like that and in AMD a RX400 series and a CPU like first/second gen ryzen and skylake or newer intel proccesors. Anyway i had 2700x with 5700xt full amd system and it wasn't good enough in any demanding game until i got a 3070 and things improved a lot . I'd say you will need something like RTX 2000 or 3000 series to run it properly or if you can't you better go full standalone and forget about PCVR

I primarily want to use it with Google Earth, am I right in saying the OC2 cannot run that without PC?

What are the current options for standalone VR?

I think Google Earth is in Oculus quest store so you will have no problems running that without PC

Hello, Google Earth will run perfectly fine without a PC, so you will be fine there. The Quest 2 is going to be our best option for a stand-alone device. You will be able to enjoy the awesome world of VR with no strings attached. To find out more about it, you can visit our website HERE.

If you're the author of a thread, remember to mark a reply as the Accepted Solution to help others find answers!

Would 100mbps download speeds be fine for google earth and games from the store?

ohgrant
Superstar

If you mean Google earth VR app, No it's not in the Oculus Quest store, I just searched and it's not there. To the best of my knowledge it's a PCVR only app.