cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Complete newbie! Who needs help.

thomascasson
Honored Guest

Hello all!

I've got 100mb speeds with BT Fibre broadband but I don't have a powerful computer. My Christmas present this year is going to be a Oculus quest 2 but I need help in what level PC I need to run the thing? 

Sorry for the very basic question im sure it has come up countless times before but PC's change every year and for someone who games's on consoles it has never been easy to get into. 

16 REPLIES 16

kojack
MVP
MVP

Google Earth VR has never been on mobile platforms. Google only released a PC version. This would be usable on a Quest if you did have a suitable PC, but not native.

Google never even supported their own Daydream mobile headset, the official Google Earth VR homepage only lists Vive and Rift as supported.

Just a little clarification: there's no such thing as a "Rift 2". There's the Rift-S (a PC only headset) and the Quest 2 (mobile standalone headset, but can connect to a PC via usb cable or wifi). I'm guessing you meant the Quest 2, since the Rift-S was discontinued a while ago. Effectively the Quest 2 turns into a Rift when linked to a PC.

For the internet speed, 100Mbs should be fine. For non multiplayer games that only affects the install time, they should all play the same (even with no internet). Google Earth VR does stream in a fair bit, but that speed should be fine for it.

Author: Oculus Monitor,  Auto Oculus Touch,  Forum Dark Mode, Phantom Touch Remover,  X-Plane Fixer
Hardware: Threadripper 1950x, MSI Gaming Trio 2080TI, Asrock X399 Taich
Headsets: Wrap 1200VR, DK1, DK2, CV1, Rift-S, GearVR, Go, Quest, Quest 2, Reverb G2

thomascasson
Honored Guest

Thank you for all your help with clarifying this. Although it is odd a moderator said it was able to run google earth! I guess I'm left with the options of either tracking down a Rift, Rift S, Oculus Touch but these all require PC's from my understanding?