cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First day impressions

EsEs
Honored Guest
Got my rift yesterday and here's a quick review of my first day

I am not a developer, so this will be more a consumer review, also note I never experienced a DK1 before.

I am going to start with problems.
- I just went for it and installed the SDK and runtime, and got it working

- the calibration, I had no idea how to do this right, I kept getting a 75mm + result( but I know my IPD is 71mm, and just set it to that) if someone can explain this to me please.

- at first everything was very blurry for me, but got it better after adjusting a bit (ended up using the B Cups)

- and last big problem for me is the 1080p screen, I wouldn't call it a SDE but you can see black lines clearly like this ' ' ' ' ' ' but in /\ shape if that make sense.

Apps/Games I tried:

Desk Demo Scene:
very nice worked really well everything feel on scale, It impressed my family and friends as well to whom I showed it.

Tuscany Demo:
same as above, but the low res is a big problem you cant see very far.

Riftmax Theatre:
Like the multiplayer idea but it feel like watching movies with a bunch of children running around in a cinema, also if you sit at the back of the cinema you lose more detail on screen because of the 1080p. (the app is very nice if you don't mind people)

Cineveo:
Now this was an awesome experience, I watched gravity in 3D with this, the space station theme is well fitted for this movie, but I think if you really want to watch a movie from start to finish it would have to be in the Void, that's just a black area with a curved screen, feel really immersive.

Elite Dangerous: