cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

List of laptops not routing video through intel HD

sergiobd
Honored Guest
Hi folks,

I have been on the quest for a laptop for VR dev. I am a homeless VR developer, so portability is a MUST (I have read many posts saying that people should not use a laptop for VR, but some devs and users like me really need something that fits in a backpack).
As I understand, this is the problem about laptops and VR:

- VR needs a high-end graphics card
- However, most laptops that have high-end graphics cards use some sort of energy optimizing technology that switches between the integrated graphics and the actual GPU. This is NVIDIA's Optimus technology (I think there is an equivalent in AMD, but I have not done any research on this).
- The problem about this technology is that the data from the GPU is hardware-routed through the integrated graphics card and this will limit FPS. So even if you choose your graphics card as default, there will be a limit on FPS.
- However, there are some models that do not implement this technology (even if it will be supported by the graphics card), or at least, the routing is not done on all video output ports. So, one may overcome the problem by plugging the rift to a different video output.
- The problem is that there is no clear information out there about laptop models where graphics are NOT routed through the intel HD (if any), or laptops where the problem can be overcome by plugging the rift in a different video port.

I have chatted with an xotic pc sales rep for 1.5 hours and he stated that manufacturers do not provide them this information. So guys, please post your laptop specs if you managed to overcome the problem. It would be really helpful.
12 REPLIES 12

SDM
Explorer
Check out the Sager NP9752-S / Clevo P750ZM.