cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Oculus + Facebook - What it means to me.

WadeWatts
Honored Guest
Like everyone else who was not part of the internal deal negotiation team at Oculus I was surprised by the news that Facebook bought Oculus. Surprised yes... but not disappointed. Euphoric actually.

Most of you don't know me personally. I'm an Oculus dev like many who post in these forums. I'm not a lurker but I focus on what interests me about Oculus and the Rift and don't dwell on my personal history in tech too much.

What is different perhaps is that I have been involved in software development for 20+ years. Through luck or good decision making it has been my lot in life to mostly be working with tech that is at the very beginning of the early adopter phase.

I started in multimedia when they first coined the term by building one of the first interactive virtual museums on CD-ROM technology... I worked at the company that created the first interactive titles for Prince and Bob Dylan. I built an e-commerce site on the Internet when the internet had only a few million users...

I was there when Steve Jobs launched NeXT after being kicked out of Apple... I was also at Boston Macworld when Steve Jobs returned to Apple and announced that MicroSoft had bought 150 million shares of Apple stock to help keep Apple afloat until Steve could show one more thing again and again... (And yes, some in the audience booed loudly then too..). I started doing dev work in mobile before smart phones were something everyone owned... and so on.

I tell you these things not to boast about my own accomplishments but to give some weight and meaning to my words.