cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Oculus for Highschool Teachers

jodi.mavrantzas
Level 2

Hi there. I am a Hospitality and Tourism teacher considering buying a few of these VR headsets to use with my students to virtually go on field trips and visit places around the world. I have a few questions about this, however, if there any teachers here who use this product. I want to know if Meta offers an educational discount if I buy through them and and buy 5 or 6 headsets at once? Also, is it difficult to get through a school boards firewalls to set these up so kids can use? (Ontario, Canada educator here) Also, is the software that involves travel and touring engaging or is this really meant more for gaming so the travelling aspect of software development lacking? Any other things I should consider before putting out this kind of money from my school budget to use with my students?

1 REPLY 1

WootM4ge
Oculus Support
Oculus Support

Hey @jodi.mavrantzas, Great questions!

As for your first questions about the discount, Meta does not offer a discount for bulk buying their headsets or for teachers as an educational discount. 

As for getting through the schools firewall, I haven't heard from any other teachers in the forums mentioning any troubles with connecting to the internet or getting through the firewall. However, to be on the safe side, I would recommend contacting your schools IT team to see what they think. 

As for software that allows for travel, there is definitely a good few apps that are great for this experience! I'm yet to try it, but BRINK Traveler on the Oculus store looks like a great experience for travel that offers bits of information on historical and geological statistics depending on the area you travel too! There are also software like Wander which allows you to teleport to anywhere on the earth and get a street view of where you choose!