cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rift 2.0 beta does not work

DJDRB
Honored Guest

Hello All,

I am a noob when it comes to the VR scene and require some assistance.  Here is my problem out of the box the Rift work great, My problem comes when I opt into the beta, All I see is a black screen. I saw the latest update talking about ensuring that we use the Be Sure to Use Nvidia Driver 388.59 which I have done with the same negative result. Could one of you really savvy VR people help me out, This thing cost a lot of money for it not to work.

I have an acer G9-791-79Y3 (Predator) with the following specs:

Intel® Processor Type Core™ i7 Processor Generation 6th Gen Processor Model i7-6700HQ Processor Speed 2.60 GHz 32 GB

Graphics Controller Manufacturer NVIDIA® Graphics Controller Model GeForce® GTX 980M Graphics Memory Capacity Up to 4 GB

Graphics Memory Accessibility Dedicated

Interfaces/Ports

HDMI Yes

Total Number of USB Ports 4

Number of USB 3.0 Ports 4

USB Connector Type Type-C

Network (RJ-45) Yes

Audio Line Out Yes

DisplayPort Yes

Number of Thunderbolt 3 Ports 1

7 REPLIES 7

LZoltowski
Champion
can you post a screenshot of your Nvidia Control Panel?

tjn0y4we3pjj.jpg
Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

Be kind to one another 🙂

DJDRB
Honored Guest
@ LZoltowski - I will as soon as I get home, Why what are you thinking...

LZoltowski
Champion

DJDRB said:

@ LZoltowski - I will as soon as I get home, Why what are you thinking...

I have seen a lot of these reports on Laptops where all graphics go through the Intel chipset and not the GPU. 
In Home 2.0 Beta it is imperative that the Rift has direct access to the GPU and is not being routed via the Intel chipset.