cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Steam OpenVR, Oculus SDK & OpenXR

Mad_Max_75
Protege

Hello community.

I have a couple of doubts that I would like to know if someone can explain to me.

I have to warn that I am not a developer and I do not control this matter much, so it may be that some concepts or technical words are said in the wrong way. I apologize in advance for this.

As I understood it, there were two, API? developers were using, SteamVR's OpenVR and Oculus SDK.

Then OpenXR appeared to unify and simplify the work of developers.

Here is my first question: Why is it different between Oculus and SteamVR when it comes to the OpenXR runtime?

Second, I can't understand why both Oculus Home and SteamVR ask me to activate their own runtime by default.

I have done tests with games and the performance is identical or very similar in terms of latency.

On some occasions, like rFactor 2, I have started with Oculus OpenXR and when exiting it had changed to SteamVR OpenXR, on other occasions, the change did not occur.

I've also tried games that have multiple startup options like Contractors.

1- Start Contractors with Oculus OpenXR activated and in Oculus mode.
2- Start Contractors with SteamVR OpenXR activated and in SteamVR mode.
3- Start Contractors with Oculus OpenXR activated and in SteamVR mode

Nothing seems to change, apart from the fact that in Oculus mode I don't have SteamVR started.

Does it depend on if the game is from Oculus, Steam or mixed? Nothing is clear to me.

Here my second question:

What are the differences between using one mode or another and when should I do it using Oculus Quest 2?

Thank you very much in advance for your clarifications.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

kojack
MVP
MVP

There are three main VR apis for PC headsets: OpenVR (SteamVR is an implementation of it), Oculus (often called OVR) and WMR (for headsets like the HP Reverb G2).