cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Rift gets a nice verdict over its competitor

Zenbane
MVP
MVP
A great article recently published that performs a fair and thorough analysis of high-end HMD options:
I’m a VR journalist who has owned a Rift, Vive and Hololens for longer than most people on this planet and I’m going to answer the question about which is better the Rift or the Vive
Right now though, even though I regard the Oculus as having only slightly inferior tracking with two cameras I still use my Oculus Rift more
VERDICT: Get the Rift, but buy your VR Apps on Steam VR to be future proof.

Full article:
https://medium.com/@micah31/vive-v-rift-what-vr-ar-need-to-become-mass-market-items-5a51b92837d

The biggest take-a-way is that the next round of competition will be determined by the HMD manufacturer that offers the most portability while still maintaining visual quality.
20 REPLIES 20

jayhawk
Superstar
I hope the author clarified that software bought from Steam still requires more steps to get software started. I was going to buy everything I could from Steam. I realized at some point I didn't entirely trust Steam as much as I did Home so that's where I buy my software. If some day it all comes crashing down I think I'll make it through ok.

Zoomie
Expert Trustee
Seems like he agrees with what most of us think on this forum.  Decent read that gets a lot of stuff right.
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. - Arthur C Clarke

Shadowmask72
Honored Visionary
Pure speculative reasoning aside. All hail Steam VR then. :smirk:

System Specs: MSI NVIDIA RTX 4090 , i5 13700K CPU, 32GB DDR 4 RAM, Win 11 64 Bit OS.

Anonymous
Not applicable