cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Week 11: Oculus Launch Pad (Due September 3rd Midnight)

Anonymous
Not applicable
Please share your Week 11 update. Please note Ebony is out on vacation until September 5th. 
54 REPLIES 54

ItsAllMe
Explorer
Hey!  
The plan is to submit everything by next Monday b/c I leave for a trip on Tuesday.  There's a lot of projects but that's just the way I like it, if there were only one, I'd be bored.  It also helps that I'm not an artist or dev (I'm in the producer role) so I'm handling the business side while they're doing a lot of hard work.  You always think there's lots of time, they're working like crazy to get it done.  I'm working like crazy to get my side polished.  They told me today they have it running at 60 fpm.  All is well!
-April 

JDakotaPowell
Protege
Week 11

Posting early so I can dive back into the production hole!

Using a reveal to achieve a tilt brush type of effect on the opening splash screen. It's as if an invisible artist is drawing the scene for the player to enter. In this opening scene, the user learns how to use the Touch controls:

skf7pesoyvbu.gif

Evolving scenes to serve story and theme. So in the first scene, when the storyteller appeals to the player to open the box, the user reaches for the box, the box falls apart and another box lies within. The player then realizes that each pad in the asylum is a box. For each box begins to change from drab grey into a color. The mind can be box to either entrap (become a prison) or open up and embrace the imagined world. 

nzeryncloawd.gif

Honing Scene 2, when the player descends into the land of the dead, I played with perspective... so that the stone gods scale up and over the user's head. A fountain of blood gushes forth to cleanse the player of sins. He/she can then proceed to Meng Po's place, the last pit stop before the next life.

rnust072wghe.gif