cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is your development process?

madibasoft
Honored Guest
As a longtime mobile developer, I'm trying to enter the waters of VR developement with my Samsung S7 and Gear VR Oculus.
After much gnashing of teeth (Framework incompatible with current Android NDK 12, Oculus keys, state of documentation) I managed to build and deploy my first sample app.
But I must be doing something wrong, as the development lifecycle I'm following is too ridiculously complex to be feasible for iterative development, so I'd love to hear what other people are doing to ensure rapid development?

Right now I need to :
1)Build the app
2)Plugin in my S7 to my laptop via USB cable
3)Run the application on my detected S7 using Android Studio
4)Watch the debugger log messages flash by, hoping the apk has copied
5)Unplug my S7 from my laptop
6)Unlock my S7 screen
7)Search for an open my newly installed application
8)Open it and watch the message "Insert this in your VR device"
9)Insert it in my VR device
10)Place VR device on my head, and try look sideways at the tiny Cube sample app message "Your application *** unexpectedly"

Then start again.

There is no way any developer could follow this process every time, so I must be doing something wrong. Can we run an emulator locally?

many thanks

8 REPLIES 8

Fulby
Heroic Explorer
I'm developing Starfighter Arduxim in Unity and use its built-in player to do the vast majority of testing. When running on the phone, it's something like:

Plug phone in via USB (I could use wi-fi but find it really slow to copy the APK)
Select 'build and run' in Unity. Wait until it's done.
Unplug phone. The app has already started and the 'insert' dialog is open
Put phone in Gear VR
Put Gear VR on head

delphinius81
Rising Star