cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Actual visual experience vs. the Oculus Store demo

Captain3dog
Honored Guest
Disclosure - I am new to VR and wear tri-focal glasses. Is anyone getting anything close to the clarity and resolution depicted in the store's demo of the apps?  Some apps are better than others but I have not found any yet that any better than, say an old projection tv's resolution.  I have been using my Go for about a week everyday and found some of the experiences fascinating and don't want to give the impression that I don't think it is a good value but the demos should depict actual resolution, in my opinion.  Example - There is a free skydiving video where the guy is landing in a stadium. I can't make out any detailed view of the fans but still got the feeling of what it may be like to skydive into a stadium.  Not going to by any app until this is changed.
19 REPLIES 19

You mention that you wear tri-focal glasses, are you wearing these while using the Go?

If so, that's probably the problem. The focal distance of the screens is the same for the whole of the screen, regardless of whether you're looking at the upper, central or lower areas.

The reason the store domo may have looked better is possibly because that demo had you focusing your attention (and therefore your eyes) at predominantly the central area of the screen. And the skydiving video now has you looking at all areas of the screen equally, so the lower areas where the crowds are have you looking through the lower lens of your glasses.

So the answer is that you must use single focal glasses that enable you to focus comfortably at roughly 1.5m - 2m.

h.r.gargi
Heroic Explorer