cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

From Medium to Blender

Anonymous
Not applicable
I'm still fairly new to the Oculus and I'm very much enjoying the whole experience. So for one of my first projects with VR I am trying to make an avatar for VRChat. I'm first creating the model in Medium and then exporting it over to Blender in order to add the necessary joints to it (knee joint, shoulder joint etc). So this model is created purely while using the mirror of course with the model in an arrow stance so I'd assume it'd be perfectly even on both sides. However, when I export this model to Blender and view the individual triangles in Edit Mode it is very much uneven.

I'm not sure if this is just the nature of exporting an OBJ or FBX model to Blender or if there is something that I could do to at least make it a lot more even on both sides. If there is could I have some advice on how I could achieve this or just some advice on exporting in general.

Thanks 🙂
4 REPLIES 4

duncankeller
Protege
That's a very interesting observation, Akendolfr, thanks for bringing it up. I don't want to say anything conclusive without digging into it, but I could potentially see this being the case. With symmetry in other programs, you are mirroring the vertices exactly 1:1. Medium symmetry works differently. Essentially, it's mirroring the position of the tool applicator and then doing two operations, one for each side, which results in a mirrored version of the SDF data (voxel data, more or less). Then, when you export, it's generating a polygonal mesh from that SDF data. But the exporter doesn't have a knowledge of that symmetry (to my knowledge, I don't know that code intimately), so it is building the mesh looking at the SDF as a whole. In theory, this should result in a perfectly symmetrical final mesh since the SDF data is, but there may be nuance to the system that would cause it not to be symmetrical.