cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Link cable not charging Quest 2?

Eurostar27
Protege

Recently purchased a Quest 2 plus the genuine Oculus PC link cable.  Very happy with the Quest 2, and what a fantastic upgrade from my old Rift CV1, which I managed to sell.  Love the standalone feature.  From others I have spoken to, the Oculus link cable should charge the Quest 2 with the PC on . But it does not.  When I am connected to the PC for some time it comes up on Quest 2 display that the charge is getting low?  I don't think the problem is the cable, but it may be USB 3.0 port on the motherboard, an Asus Maximus VIII Hero?  Any advice please.  

21 REPLIES 21

dewthedew902
Expert Protege

I can give you what I think might be the reason, but I am no expert. From what I read, there are some computers that will charge well and some that will not through the same cable. It Hass to do with how the computer is built and how much power is being sent out of the USB port. 

I am not one to build computers but I was looking into it. Specifically so I could use a Oculus Link because I am an Apple user otherwise. 

from what I found when looking at different build plans, you need the right type of motherboard and the right type of power cable and interface (all stuff on the inside of the computer) in order to give the USB port enough power to function as link and to charge the headset. 

I don’t remember what website I was on but it was suggesting to not get certain brands of motherboards and stuff because it would not provide enough power to charge the headset while you play. 

hopefully that gives you a starting ground. 

I have probably put 20+ hours into googling how to build a computer for VR though. So it took me a while to find info like that.