cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Quest 2 Headset not detected (TRIED EVERYTHING)

tehjaywen
Level 2

hello. i am new to the VR community and i know this topic is common but i cant seem to find a solution for my problem 😧

I bought the quest 2 for 1 purpose - Sim racing. Im trying to play it with Oculus Link but for some reason my pc does not detect my vr headset at all despite plugging it into the USB 3.0 / 3.1 port. Ive tried every solutions i can find on the net but none of them works. Ive tried updating my usb ports drivers via device manager (i didnt actually as it says im using the latest version already), reinstalling drivers via device manager, updating my bios to latest version, changing usb ports, reinstalling oculus software, enabling dev and usb debugging, updating both software and vr to the same version (v25/v26). I dont know what else to do.

I am using an aftermarket C to A cable that costed me around $60

However using a REGULAR USB type C phone cable does work but it detects it as USB2.0, not 3.0

Here are my specs:

Zotac RTX 2060

Z390 Aorus Elite

16GB RAM

i5 9400F

8 REPLIES 8

PITTCANNA
Level 12

is your computer a laptop or desktop?

Do you have usb 3.0 ports?

Are the other devices drawing too much power?

desktop. i have like 5 usb 3 ports and 3 usb 3.1 ports. 

im not too sure. ive only got 2 mouses, keyboard, headphones and g29 (switched off) connected

Viscerous
Level 4

Since the 'regular' cable works, I think it might be the cable. A fair few cables sold seem to be only for charging your devices and don't carry real data or are otherwise limited to USB 2.0.

So try removing some items, and putting them in low bandwidth ports.

and if you havent done so test the bandwith of the 3.1 vs. 3.0, if the cable is only 3.0 and its 3.1 slot then it probally wont work to well.

So connect to a blue 3.0 slot and run the test.  if you get green dot, then use that port.