cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does Oculus Quest support Photon Unity Networking?

mofvr
Honored Guest
I am researching about possibilities to make multi user experiences for the Quest and have been wondering if Photon would help?
26 REPLIES 26

cloud_canvas
Expert Protege

VJ76 said:

re: idiosyncrasies of local vs remote players using Oculus Avatars SDK and PUN 2:

Thx! @cloud_canvas, did you use it yourself? i have experience in developing vr, but i'm new to networking.

Yep, if you look at the bottom of the page there's an addendum crediting me, lol. I've had a lot of back and forth with Tobias and Jean from Photon specifically about Oculus Avatar serialization. Please search for "Oculus Avatars" and "PUN" or "Photon" and you will see loads about this on this forum.

cloud_canvas
Expert Protege
My company's Oculus Go app has extensive integration with PUN 2 and Oculus Avatars. I am also totally new to networking. I'd recommend simply following Photon's basic tutorials and then applying the concepts (PhotonView, RPC, RaiseEvent etc.) to your own project.

paulodgn
Honored Guest
@cloud_canvas First thanks for all the research and to share the fix with photon and Avatars. I did what it says in the Photon tutorial for the avatars but im having a problem. The avatar never gets Initialized for some reason and i dont get any errors. Any idea in what can be the cause of this?

MassiveState
Protege
Hey I'm currently in the process of working with pun2 and avatars as well.

I realized the OnJoinedRoom() function wasn't being called when instantiating the avatars so I changed it to a LoadAvatar() function and called it just after I created the player. 

This is my NetworkManager.cs script:

private void Start()
{
CreatePlayer();
LoadAvatar();
}

//here's my create player script

public byte InstantiateVrAvatarEventCode = 123;

public void LoadAvatar()
{
GameObject localAvatar = Instantiate(Resources.Load("PUN_LocalAvatar")) as GameObject;