cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with MediaProjection and permission dialog

vit.hlavacek
Protege

Hi

Im new to oculus development (Oculus Quest 2) and im trying simple app for making screenshots and screen recording. But im having a problem with permission to retrieve MediaProjectionApi

I start activity for result, and the standard android dialog for permission shows but, but without allow/deny buttons, so im stuck.

MediaProjectionPermissionDialogMediaProjectionPermissionDialog

This is the dialog, sorry for the phone pic, but build in screenshot does not show this dialog.
Found simmilar issue here https://github.com/rom1v/sndcpy/issues/75 but no solution either.

My code for showing this dialog. This is in my MainActivity and the testMediaProjectionPermission method is call as onClickListener from a button.

ActivityResultLauncher<Intent> resultLauncher =  registerForActivityResult(
new ActivityResultContracts.StartActivityForResult(),
new ActivityResultCallback<ActivityResult> () {

@Override
public void onActivityResult(ActivityResult result) {
if(RESULT_OK == result.getResultCode()) {
Log.d(TAG, "Media projection permission granted");
MediaProjectionManager mediaProjectionManager = (MediaProjectionManager) getSystemService(MEDIA_PROJECTION_SERVICE);
MediaProjection mediaProjection = mediaProjectionManager.getMediaProjection(result.getResultCode(), result.getData());
Log.d(TAG, "Successfully retrieved mediPerojeciton="+mediaProjection);

}
}
});

private void testMediaProjectionPermission(View view) {
MediaProjectionManager mediaProjectionManager = (MediaProjectionManager) getSystemService(MEDIA_PROJECTION_SERVICE);
resultLauncher.launch(mediaProjectionManager.createScreenCaptureIntent());
}

Any advice would be appriciated. Any kind of workaround or another option to record screen other then the build in caster.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

vit.hlavacek
Protege