cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB 3.0 "Connection Required"

TopShelfSnip3r
Level 2
So yesterday I was playing fine with the VR the next day I come up with this problem. "USB 3 Connection Required" It's like the oculus app doesn't even recognize my usb 3.0 being plugged in my desktop and I made sure it's in a 3.0 port. I've plugged in every 3.0 port possible and it still says USB 3 Connection Required. I went into the device manager tried to update my usb 3.0 but it says it's at the latest version, i've tried to uninstall the usb and plug it back in multiple times. My display port works fine and my Rift S says Connected and active when I put on the headset it has 3 dots with the oculus symbol and a black screen with my controllers sitting 1 meter below me. In the device manager it shows that the USB 3.0 from the VR cable works fine. I did everything I can and don't know what to do I need help :disappointed:
It's been a month since I started playing VR.

5aqr8h8lf46g.png6grw3ur4jdwe.png
103 REPLIES 103

crossmr
Level 4
For anyone having this issue, post a screen shot of your device manager in "devices by connection" mode to verify your Rift is connected via the USB 3.0 hub. 0ut60ezooqcu.png
It'll look something like this, you can just screenshot from where it says USB Root Hub (USB 3.0) I just posted a full screen to show you how to find it (it might be slightly different on your machine)

Shooter80
Level 3
There are a lot of things that could be the difference between something being connected as USB 3.0 or 2.0 other than what type of port its plugged into.

A USB 3.0 connection isn't a given just because the wires are connected, USB 3.0 does 'Link Training' (LTSSM*) to test the quality of the connection between both devices, anything between the chip and the Rift could cause it to decide to drop back to 2.0, an extension cable, a hub, or even an old tired and worn, irreplaceable, headset cable.