cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Windows and Steam VR very slow since connected to the Oculus Rift S

apollo_86
Honored Guest
Hey,

i am completely new to VR and i got my ORS a couple days ago. I am blown away and i love it so much. This technology is an absolute Game changer and since i got into it i wouldnt miss it anymore.

Sadly i also experience some issues that i never had before with my PC. My PC normally takes about 2-3 seconds in the Windows boot screen, but since i connected the ORS the boot sequence takes about 2 minutes which is a crazy increase in booting time. I also have a Problem with Steam VR.

Everytime i start Steam now it says "Updating Steam ..." and this takes 5-6 minutes. Then Steam starts and it is extremly laggy and slow. The whole PC becomes unusable because of that and i always have to restart.

I cant play any games from steam because of this. Its so laggy, and the games never actually start when i click them. Everything in the Oculus Store works perfectly fine though ...

My PC got a fresh install 3 month ago and i kept my system very organized and clean. I also have the newest driver installed for all my hardware and i tried disconnecting the headset also already.

My Specs:
Ryzen 2700x
16 GB DDR4
GTX 1060 6GB

Does anyone experience the same issues?

Thanks!
3 REPLIES 3

Crazy_Sane
Superstar
Running Steam and Oculus at the same time will slow down your machine. Have a look at your CPU/ RAM performance.

Have you watched/ read a tutorial on using the Rift S with Steam? I don't think it's completely plug and play.

Umpa_PC
Rising Star

Running Steam and Oculus at the same time will slow down your machine. Have a look at your CPU/ RAM performance.

Have you watched/ read a tutorial on using the Rift S with Steam? I don't think it's completely plug and play.