cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WordPress or Others?

McGillJohn
Honored Guest
Since I know it's a developers forum but I am still unsure about posting it in general topics or in off topic, so for my safety i choose to put my question in off topic. I hope I get my answer. My question is about web development since i am new in this so i would like to ask that
Which is better, a website developed using HTML/CSS/JS or by using WordPress?
4 REPLIES 4

JohnnyDioxin
Expert Trustee
It depends what you want. I ran a cpanel type website (writing my own html pages) for years to cover my hobbies and present reference information for some flight sims and had many more visitors than I ever expected.

I recently switched to Wordpress - where you choose a template and everything is set out for you - you just add the pictures or video and text in the relevant spaces. You can also have your own domain name linked to the wordpress site (so that if they put in your address it diverts visitors straight to your Wordpress site). Whilst this was far more convenient than doing it all yourself, after 10 months I had a mass total of 2 followers and an average of 2 visits per month! (compared to 2,000 average on my cpanel based website). So my site got nowhere near the same level of promotion and I never once saw it on a search engine. Also, Wordpress actually turned out to be no cheaper, at £36 a year for the pro package.

Another thing to bear in mind - I decided to close my Wordpress site and account but have had no end of issues trying to do so. In fact - read it for yourself:

https://virtualpilotorguk.wordpress.com/2017/10/19/first-blog-post/