cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Informal Poll, Which Build Environment is best?

shadybob1956
Protege

I'm just getting started with developing for the Meta Quest, and I am wondering what "build" environment most of you use? I guess there are basically 3: 1. Native coding (Visual Studio?), 2. Unity Engine, and 3. Unreal Engine?

I have installed all 3 so far. Found an outdated tutorial on creating a basic app with Unity, after what seemed like several hours sifting through scattered information (could have been organized much better), most of the info for unity did not match the version I installed, I ended up with a very rudimentary "virtual" world on my device, but the controllers were non-functional. All that took about 15minutes to "compile".

As for unreal engine, I have only been playing around with it's user interface, but haven't gotten into the actual "coding" yet. Off hand, it seems like it might work better?

Lastly, there's the native made? Just code for the most part?

Are there any other options? Which one do you prefer? Can you list any pros and cons for each?

Thank you in advance for taking the time to read this and hopefully respond.

3 REPLIES 3

tom.leylan
Expert Protege

Gosh I notice the date posted as "Friday" when did the world stop using actual dates?

Meanwhile... I think your choices are affected by your experience as a developer and perhaps what the application is intended to do. I use Unity. There is a lot (and I mean a lot) of support, documentation, training, 3rd-party tools and libraries. Generally speaking using established tools is a time-saver as most people don't have the time to write both the tools and their application. If there is a bug in a commonly used library it will typically be noticed by one of the thousands of users and fixed by the team that produces it.