cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sound stops (2 years old problem anniversary)

LithiumIO
Expert Protege
Yep so this issue has been around for about 2 years for quite a lot of people. I preface this thread with a question;

HOW IN THE F'ELL IS THIS PROBLEM NOT FIXED YET?

I'm a technical engineer and software developer, and have been in the I.T. industry for about 23 years now... and this problem is sending me completely insane.

The sound on my
rift completely drops out after anywhere from 1 minute to 1 hour of
use. If the HMD is not "active" (as in, wearing it) the sound will last
1+ hours, but if it's active it usually lasts about 2-3 minutes most of
the time. The sound VU meter in Windows "freezes" on whatever sound
level was playing at the time - sound continues to play through my
normal headphones and/or speakers while the rift just stops.

I
just bought a brand new PC and this problem has only started to happen
on my BRAND NEW (Windows 10 (<sarcasm>yay!</sarcasm>) computer. My 8 year old system (Windows 7) I
never had any problem until the mainboard finally gave up on me about 3
weeks ago. The problem started happening immediately after installing
the rift on my brand new rig. I reinstalled Windows 10 from scratch at
the beginning of all of this thinking something installed badly, yet the
problem remained.

So far to resolve the problem myself (with zero luck) I have also tried the following:

- rebooting my PC (the best oculus support website could offer me as a solution (pretty lame))
-
3 different drivers for my sound device including the manufacturer
driver from Asus for Realtek sound. The Windows default sound driver,
and the nvidia driver that was installed with my graphics card - then
tried combinations of most of the following steps with each driver
installed.
- removing and disabling ALL other sound devices including headphones and speakers, etc
- Disabling "enhancements" in the audio settings