cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Step by step guide to Unity integration?

nypraise
Level 3
I am pretty new to Unity and the Oculus SDK did not tell me much. Are there someone who could make a step by step guide how to integrate the Oculus SDK to Unity? ๐Ÿ™‚
25 REPLIES 25

wccrawford
Level 2
Drag the OVR camera controller prefab onto your existing FPS player. Position it at the head. Link the part of your player that rotates to the OVR camera controller's script where it says something like 'follow orientation'.

Congrats, you've made a game for the Rift!

Okay, getting your menus to work and such is going to take a bit longer, but that's the basics and should have you playing around in no time.

nypraise
Level 3
And that is in /LibOVR/Src/? What is the filename? Canยดt seem to find a Camera controller there. :?

cybereality
Level 16
1) Open Unity and create a new project and a new scene (or open the project you wish to add Rift support to).
2) From the top menu, under "Assets" choose "Import Package" -> "Custom Package"
3) Find the 'OculusUnityIntegration' folder you should have extracted from the 'ovr_unity_0.2.1_lib.zip' download file.
4) Click on the 'OculusUnityIntegration.unitypackage' and click 'Open'.
5) In the Project menu click the down arrows next to 'Assets' then 'OVR' then click "Prefabs'.
6) In the window drag the 'OVRPlayerController' into the Scene view.
7) If this is a new scene you may want to create a floor first and add some objects so you can see whats going on.
๐Ÿ˜Ž Reposition the 'OVRPlayerController' into a good place in the scene, above the floor and not colliding with anything.
9) Drag the 'Game' window onto the Rift screen (if in extended desktop mode) and click the small square next to the 'x' on the top-right.
10) Click 'Play'.
11) Have fun!