cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unity 5.3 OVR bad rotation init

TonyVT
Level 3
I'm a developer for Unity+VR, both Oculus DK2 and GearVR and I use Oculus Utilities v0.1.3.

I've noticed a strage Issue switching from Unity 5.2.2p4 to Unity 5.3.2.p1: Virtual reality initializes/resets at the beginning of the programs in a strange manner. The issue is clearly visible with my GearVR innovator edition (Note 4 version): if I start a program builded with this Version of Unity with the head all tilted, the world will result all strangely inclined. With DK2 I also have some strange behaviour with my particular program, but I can't say you how to replicate this.
We made the tests using 2 GearVR with 2 Note4 and the results are the same. Building with Unity 5.1.x or 5.2.x solves the issue.
In Editor, with DK2 attached, everything works super-fine.

I've searched this problem using google, but with no luck. Have you any suggestions? (Maybe it is a bug)
22 REPLIES 22

nikodemus
Level 2
Is there a solution to this problem yet?

vrdaveb
Oculus Staff
It hasn't been fixed yet. Currently you need to create Cameras in Awake or Update instead of Start.

superVRariobros
Level 2
I still see this issue in the latest version of Unity but I was able to fix it by commenting some lines of the OVRManager out like so.

private void UpdateAnchors()
{
bool monoscopic = OVRManager.instance.monoscopic;

OVRPose tracker = OVRManager.tracker.GetPose();

trackerAnchor.localRotation = tracker.orientation;
//centerEyeAnchor.localRotation = VR.InputTracking.GetLocalRotation(VR.VRNode.CenterEye);
leftEyeAnchor.localRotation = monoscopic ? centerEyeAnchor.localRotation : VR.InputTracking.GetLocalRotation(VR.VRNode.LeftEye);
rightEyeAnchor.localRotation = monoscopic ? centerEyeAnchor.localRotation : VR.InputTracking.GetLocalRotation(VR.VRNode.RightEye);
leftHandAnchor.localRotation = OVRInput.GetLocalControllerRotation(OVRInput.Controller.LTouch);