cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

mesh sequence playback in Unity -(simple DK2 demo inside)

Thomixioso
Honored Guest
Hi guys,

I have some interesting idea to create liquid simulation (flooding street, waterfalls, water explosions etc.) and play it back in Unity. As fx guy with DK2 at home this is something I would love to try experiencing inside Rift. I am really new in Unity, so I would really appreciate if anybody can help me with loading these mesh sequences to Unity. I understand its very performance intensive, but maybe I can try to optimize resolutions a lot.

Thank you, Tomas.
17 REPLIES 17

Boff
Honored Guest
I'm not sure what you need help with exactly, but you could try Googling 'Unity blendshapes'.
If you're looking for more basic info then try 'Unity FBX import'

Hope this helps! (And is relevant to what you want!)

Thomixioso
Honored Guest
Thanks for info, but i have differrent situation. I have sequence of meshes, every mesh have different polycount. So blendshapes are not suitable for me. I need some script for reading sequence of meshes and switch them one by one across playback.

Tomas.

MikeF
Trustee
I've done something like this before using maya's fluid dynamics conveted to poly's.
I dont have the script handy, but it was pretty simple:
load an array with all your meshes, have them turn on/off at set intervals based on time.deltatime.
So for 24fps playback you'd to turn on/off 24 meshes within 1 second of your time.deltatime var

Though i must warn that this is not very efficient and should only be used as for showcase pieces in your scene.

Thomixioso
Honored Guest
Thank you Mark,

I very apologize, but realy dont understand, what do you mean. Scripting in Unity is tottaly foerign for me, I am big beginner in this. Can you help me with this, best in steps?

Thank you for assistance.

MikeF
Trustee
I'm pretty busy this week but i'll see if i can put something together when i have a bit of time to go over it.