cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

mesh sequence playback in Unity -(simple DK2 demo inside)

Thomixioso
Honored Guest
Hi guys,

I have some interesting idea to create liquid simulation (flooding street, waterfalls, water explosions etc.) and play it back in Unity. As fx guy with DK2 at home this is something I would love to try experiencing inside Rift. I am really new in Unity, so I would really appreciate if anybody can help me with loading these mesh sequences to Unity. I understand its very performance intensive, but maybe I can try to optimize resolutions a lot.

Thank you, Tomas.
17 REPLIES 17

Thomixioso
Honored Guest
This is quick test. Polycount is around 1 mill polys, but growing in time. However, data size is very uncomfortable, so this short animation (70 frames) has 900 MB! So, if you have fast internet you can try it. I can create some youtube if somebody want that. Is there any other method how to attach multiple objects into that script? I did it manualy one by one and its quite slow if you have lot of frames.

Playback is very smooth, on my I7 4.GHz, GTX 770, 16 Gb Ram.

http://we.tl/UAqarGDJAj

Even though, possibilities are endless 🙂 Smoke/fire simulations, Destructions (Maya Ncloth/DMM), cloth simulations or Realflow/Bifrost liquids....etc. If you have guys some interesting idea you would like to experience, let me know.

Tomas

MikeF
Trustee
Cool stuff man! if i have some time i'll see what i can do to improve it so its easier to load in the frames.
I also want to run a few tests myself to see if we can get that filesize down somehow

Thomixioso
Honored Guest
Thanks Mike, 🙂

compiled demo size and loading into frames are now biggest obstacles. And of course loading OBJ files into Unity 🙂

If you solve this, I could create something more interesting. For example atomic explosion. or building collapse.

Tom.

rado_o
Honored Guest
Hi,