cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data Streaming from Unity VR app to mobile (iOS/android/web) client

patmw
Explorer

Hi there,

I'm currently working on a VR app for a client, which will run on the Oculus Quest/Quest2. One of the base requirements is that the VR app can be interacted with from an external client application through two-way communication.

The mobile client should be able to trigger certain events within the Quest app - for example, pause/continue/next scene/trigger sound, etc. 

The mobile client should also be able to receive data from the Quest app - things such as the user's performance metrics in a certain part of the experience.

In my initial research, I've stumbled upon several options: UDP/threading/OSC/PUN/Mirror/Normcore/WebRTC, and I'm feeling slightly overwhelmed (I have no solid networking experience in the past).

If possible I would like to avoid some of the heavier networking frameworks, as I want to avoid having to refactor all my code to accommodate for these. There isn't necessarily a need for full synchronization of game-states like there would on a real-time multiplayer game, only small custom data packets.

Any guidance would be massively appreciated!

I'm way in over my head at the moment.

Thanks in advance.

Pat

23 REPLIES 23

brazzoni
Protege

I would really appreciate any guidance or referrals to documentation for this as well. I've looked into the peer-to-peer networking documentation. That looks easy enough, but my interpretation of it is that it is only to be used with other headsets.