cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moving Oculus controller back and forth(along the z axis)

AliHammza
Honored Guest
Hey,
I have written a script to pick an object with a rigidbody component by the ray casted from the controller and move it around. 
I parent the object to the controller to move it in the scene then. However, I can not move neither the controller nor the object in the forward or backward direction. I can move it up and down or in a circle but I also want to move it along the z axis. 

If anyone could point me in a right direction or help me with this, I would greatly appreciate it!

Thanks in advance.

12 REPLIES 12

Anonymous
Not applicable
In Unreal we have access to "RawSensorData" from which you can read acceleration data, I'm sure Unity does also support this.

AliHammza
Honored Guest
Hey, could you elaborate a bit please, since I am very new to this.

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am assuming, looking at the tags off your post, you are developing for the Go.
The Go controller does not support '6 degrees of freedom' (6 dof) but is limited to 3 degrees and therefor does not support up/down, left/right, forward/back.

I have tried the the 'GetRawSensorData' method (from the Oculus ) reads acceleration data from the device (the controller in this case)  which you can use to (sortof) determine the direction in which it was moved.
In Unreal this is the signature of the method:
void GetRawSensorData
(
    FVector & AngularAcceleration,
    FVector & LinearAcceleration,
    FVector & AngularVelocity,
    FVector & LinearVelocity,
    float & TimeInSeconds
)
Hope this helps you to find the method in the Unity OVR plugin.

Anonymous
Not applicable
Just spoke to a Unity guy, he gave me these directions:
OVRPlugin.GetNodeAcceleration(OVRPlugin.Node.HandRight, OVRPlugin.Step.Render).FromFlippedZVector3f();
And a snippet from within the OVRPlugin:
if (version >= OVRP_1_12_0.version)