SOLVED - VR application closes "unexpectedly" whenever I put the headset on. — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

SOLVED - VR application closes "unexpectedly" whenever I put the headset on.

KingsfoilKingsfoil Posts: 1
edited March 2016 in Support
It turned out that the phone required an update to the Oculus store app (even though it had only been downloaded this morning) - not that it said anything about that in the error message. All fixed and up and running now.

Hi everyone, I'm really new at this and pretty excited about getting a Gear VR with my Galaxy s7 Edge. Everything went fine with downloading software, but whenever I put the headset on I get the following error message "VR application closed unexpectedly. Remove mobile device from Gear VR , then reinsert mobile device and reopen VR application". 

I have removed the phone and reinserted it a hundred times trying to get this to work, rebooted the phone, etc.. and all I get is this message. Apparently I'm meant to be 'good to go' now, but I'm not getting anywhere. Any advice? I'm sooooo frustrated with this :(

The last instruction doesn't seem to make any sense to me either. It says to reinsert the device and then reopen the VR application, but once I reinsert the phone I can't do anything (including reopening the VR application)!

Comments

• cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    Would you mind contacting Oculus Support about this issue? Thanks.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • bienorbienor Posts: 2
    edited March 2016