"Your computer doesn't meet Rift's recommended Specs" ... but it totally does, and totally works. — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

"Your computer doesn't meet Rift's recommended Specs" ... but it totally does, and totally works.

RayvolutionRayvolution Posts: 208
Nexus 6
This is a very, very minor issue. I'm just curious if anyone else had it happen to them. But the Oculus store claims "Your computer doesn't meet Rift's recommended specifications, witch can lead to a poor experience in VR.", the problem is, I have a pretty beefy rig that goes beyond the minimum specs and I can play basically any VR game I can throw on it at max settings.

My basic/Rift-important specs;
i7-2600k
16gb of DDR3 3200 Ram
EVGA GTX980
On board and dedicated USB 3.0 ports

I suspect it might think my processor is "too old" even though it's totally acceptable for the Rift, it is an early first or second gen i7. Alternatively, it could be doing something wacky like not detecting my USB 3.0 ports.

Either way, it's not affected the VR experience in any way what so ever, I'm just curious if anyone else has this popup?
«13

Comments

  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    edited April 2016
    No, it does not meet the recommendation. The 2600k CPU is many years past it's prime, though still a somewhat passable experience. I can also confirm that you won't be able to max out every game, since I have a better machine and still can't get close to maxing out Chronos (for example). Sorry.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • RayvolutionRayvolution Posts: 208
    Nexus 6
    Well, I managed to max out every game I've thrown at it. While I haven't tried Chronos yet I'm getting pretty rock solid frame rates in EVE, Lucky's Tale, Vanishing of Ethan Carter, and all the free demos I can find. Admittedly all of those games aren't exactly bleeding edge technology though, so I'd expect them to run well.

    Games now a days are no where near as CPU dependent as they used to be. Without the Rift, I can play literally every AAA title out there at over 60FPS, I really can't imagine my CPU being a bottleneck in this instance. My gut tells me your bottleneck is your GPU, even if it's a powerhouse like a 980ti, pushing a game like Chronos at 2160x1200p90 would be taxing on any GPU.

  • nroskonrosko Posts: 953
    Neo
    yeah this annoyed me as i would of pre ordered but after telling me my pc did not meet the spec i backed out. It was only later i realised people were running it on slower machines than mine. 
  • DreamwriterDreamwriter Posts: 1,101
    3Jane
    edited April 2016
    Well, I managed to max out every game I've thrown at it. While I haven't tried Chronos yet I'm getting pretty rock solid frame rates in EVE, Lucky's Tale, Vanishing of Ethan Carter, and all the free demos I can find. Admittedly all of those games aren't exactly bleeding edge technology though, so I'd expect them to run well.

    Games now a days are no where near as CPU dependent as they used to be. Without the Rift, I can play literally every AAA title out there at over 60FPS, I really can't imagine my CPU being a bottleneck in this instance. My gut tells me your bottleneck is your GPU, even if it's a powerhouse like a 980ti, pushing a game like Chronos at 2160x1200p90 would be taxing on any GPU.

    Updating a game's physics and things at 90fps is extremely CPU intensive, so if games are running their game engines at 90fps, that's why you'd need a powerful CPU. You've maxed out those games running on the full CV1 Rift?
  • RayvolutionRayvolution Posts: 208
    Nexus 6
    edited April 2016
    <snip>

    Updating a game's physics and things at 90fps is extremely CPU intensive, so if games are running their game engines at 90fps, that's why you'd need a powerful CPU. You've maxed out those games running on the full CV1 Rift?
    Yep. Full CV1 rift, so far I've maxed out every setting possible (In most, that's basically just setting the rendering resolution to max, usually +130% in most games).

    These are the apps I've played around in, all run at a smooth as butter 90FPS on maximum;
    Vanishing of Ethan Carter VR (Resolution to 130%, no other settings exist)
    Poly Runner VR
    Lucky's Tale (Set to High)
    EVE: Valkyrie (I set everything to Ultra, as well as the resolution to maximum.)
    Invasion!
    The Body VR
    Introduction to VR
    COLOSSE
    Farlands
    Showdown
    Henry
    Oculus Dreamdeck
    Virtual Desktop, playing with 360 video and what not. (If you would even count that)

    Even played around with VorpX, and while personally I think VorpX itself is junk (It's just a pain to set everything up right to have an enjoyable experience) I had smooth framerates, the controls were just terrible because of the nature of the drivers and the injection process. But here's the games I tried, and graphics/performance wise, all ran at great speeds;
    Fallout 4
    Skyrim
    Legends of Grimrock
    Borderlands 1


  • TwoHedWlfTwoHedWlf Posts: 2,233 Valuable Player
    So, you're happy with the performance you're getting with less than the recommended specs...Good for you?  It is only a recommendation, they're not saying it won't work.
  • RayvolutionRayvolution Posts: 208
    Nexus 6
    TwoHedWlf said:
    So, you're happy with the performance you're getting with less than the recommended specs...Good for you?  It is only a recommendation, they're not saying it won't work.
    I never said that, or implied I was upset. Why the defensive attitude?

    It's kind of funny if it's my CPU causing it to flag, since my i7-2600k is actually faster than the i5-4590 they list as the minimum requirements.

    As I said though, everything works great. I'm just wondering if anyone else is getting the same notification while using a PC that's obviously above the system requirements.


  • ColinBColinB Posts: 236
    Nexus 6
    Great post there, Rayvolution.
    And thanks for posting.
    Probably Oculus are more concerned about specs for legal reasons.
    Glad to see you weren't fooled again and tried first.

  • lordvtplordvtp Posts: 55
    Hiro Protagonist
    edited April 2016
    This is the problem with using a flat reference for these chips intended (or not in any case) to be OC'd.  The heart of the issue is not general performance of the chip (I can assure folks, they are no slouch at or above 5ghz) but the lack of certain features such as AVX 2 hardware.... that and allot of early sandy bridge hardware had very spotty USB3 support. 
  • RayvolutionRayvolution Posts: 208
    Nexus 6
    edited April 2016
    lordvtp said:
     that and allot of early sandy bridge hardware had very spotty USB3 support. 
    yeah, that's exactly why I went ahead and bought a dedicated USB3 card before my Rift arrived. :smile:

    Although I ended up plugging in the rift itself into my motherboard's USB3 directly anyway, I only use the dedicated card for the sensor since I only have 2 USB3 ports, and 1 is being used by a USB3 external HDD.

    I'm going to need more ports once I have the touch controllers anyway, since I'll need to stick the second sensor into something. ;)
  • Percy1983Percy1983 Posts: 1,410
    Wintermute

    It's kind of funny if it's my CPU causing it to flag, since my i7-2600k is actually faster than the i5-4590 they list as the minimum requirements.
    I don't know how to break this to you...

    ...the i5-4590 is faster...
    Asrock Z77 Extreme 4 + 16GB RAM 1866mhz + i5-3570K at 4.5Ghz + Coolermaster Nepton 140XL cooler
    Sapphire 8GB RX 580 Nitro+
    256Gb SDD Samsung Evo 850 +3x2TB in raid 0 with 64GB SSD cache
    Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition + Toughpower 875w
  • kongkingkongking Posts: 93
    Hiro Protagonist
    I heard that Pascal will not require that much from CPU. Might be a relief for some people.
  • jdenneyjdenney Posts: 163
    Art3mis
    Yes the i5-4590 is faster then the i7-2600k
  • blanesblanes Posts: 1,067
    3Jane
    edited April 2016
    @cybereality  ~  sorry mate but you are not quite correct there, and with respect it is surprising that this sort of misinformation is still being kicked around. It is fairly common knowledge that the i7-2600K is a brilliant overclocker and mine has been happily running at 4.8ghz for over 5 years now which it enables it to overtake some newer cpu's under certain conditions.  Even the 2500K overclocks like a beast.  

    Paired with my 980ti there is nothing in VR that does not run on very decent high settings and many other 2600 owners can attest to this.  The fault is that your software is not taking the cpu speed into account at all but simply reading the chip identifier in windows system.  SteamVR performance tester rates my system at near to the highest level for VR, which is real world correct. Perhaps you can impress on your team to update the Oculus test parameters so it measures cpu speed and gives a more accurate analysis so people do not have to find work-arounds to get rid of a message that is plainly wrong in many cases. 

    Oh and updated news for you Percy1983 re the i5-4590 ~ that is true at stock speeds, however the 2600K is made to be overclocked where it is faster.
  • blanes said:
    @cybereality  ~  sorry mate but you are not quite correct there, and with respect it is surprising that this sort of misinformation is still being kicked around. It is fairly common knowledge that the i7-2600K is a brilliant overclocker and mine has been happily running at 4.8ghz for over 5 years now which it enables it to overtake some newer cpu's under certain conditions.  Even the 2500K overclocks like a beast.  

    Paired with my 980ti there is nothing in VR that does not run on very decent high settings and many other 2600 owners can attest to this.  The fault is that your software is not taking the cpu speed into account at all but simply reading the chip identifier in windows system.  SteamVR performance tester rates my system at near to the highest level for VR, which is real world correct. Perhaps you can impress on your team to update the Oculus test parameters so it measures cpu speed and gives a more accurate analysis so people do not have to find work-arounds to get rid of a message that is plainly wrong in many cases. 

    Oh and updated news for you Percy1983 re the i5-4590 ~ that is true at stock speeds, however the 2600K is made to be overclocked where it is faster.
    Obviously the recommended specs on a piece of hardware aren't going to take into account individual overclocks, not to mention a 4.8 OC is higher than your average Sandy Bridge OC. Stock 2600k doesn't meet the min., and while that probably won't be an issue now, where almost every game is basically a tech demo, it's silly to think that Oculus should change their minimum based on anecdotal evidence from a handful of overclocked CPUs running first gen VR demos & games.

    That said, if it's working for you, enjoy it :)
  • Percy1983Percy1983 Posts: 1,410
    Wintermute
    I don't disagree the 2600k can be clocked to be faster than the 4590k, likewise the 4590k can be clocked to remain faster.

    By all means I don't meet the spec on model name as I have a 3570k, but clocked at 4.5ghz it is faster than the stock 4590k so I know I will be fine until zen/kabylake.
    Asrock Z77 Extreme 4 + 16GB RAM 1866mhz + i5-3570K at 4.5Ghz + Coolermaster Nepton 140XL cooler
    Sapphire 8GB RX 580 Nitro+
    256Gb SDD Samsung Evo 850 +3x2TB in raid 0 with 64GB SSD cache
    Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition + Toughpower 875w
  • dead4suredead4sure Posts: 263
    Nexus 6
    Is there not a "Click here to remove this message" option?
  • lmaceleightonlmaceleighton Posts: 293
    Hiro Protagonist
    I have an AMD 8120 8 Core, that the Oculus tool says doesn't pass the muster...now when I used the Tool for Steam VR, it find that my performance never goes below 90 FPS...not even close, in fact it never goes below 100 FPS. It is MORE than possible that you CAN have a system that WILL give a great experience, and still not pass the Oculus test...BTW, it seems to be a tool which doesn't seem to "test" anything, but just looks at your hardware. Also Cyber I can play Chronos Maxed...although i am still using the DK2 my frame rates are more than sufficient for the CV1. I think you guys need a better way of determining if you system will work for VR or not, other than a Spec list, because that does not seem to work well in my experience.
  • shim2shim2 Posts: 480
    Nexus 6
    edited April 2016
    No, it does not meet the recommendation. The 2600k CPU is many years past it's prime, though still a somewhat passable experience. I can also confirm that you won't be able to max out every game, since I have a better machine and still can't get close to maxing out Chronos (for example). Sorry.
    The 2600k is faster than the 4590 in every way except for single thread performance. If you overclock it, it is MUCH faster than the 4590. That stupid message should have the option of being disabled.
  • Percy1983Percy1983 Posts: 1,410
    Wintermute
    shim2 said:
    No, it does not meet the recommendation. The 2600k CPU is many years past it's prime, though still a somewhat passable experience. I can also confirm that you won't be able to max out every game, since I have a better machine and still can't get close to maxing out Chronos (for example). Sorry.
    The 2600k is faster than the 4590 in every way except for single thread performance. If you overclock it, it is MUCH faster than the 4590. That stupid message should have the option of being disabled.
    But single thread performance is what matters the most, by all means I agree with enough of an overclock it should be up to spec.
    Asrock Z77 Extreme 4 + 16GB RAM 1866mhz + i5-3570K at 4.5Ghz + Coolermaster Nepton 140XL cooler
    Sapphire 8GB RX 580 Nitro+
    256Gb SDD Samsung Evo 850 +3x2TB in raid 0 with 64GB SSD cache
    Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition + Toughpower 875w
  • RayvolutionRayvolution Posts: 208
    Nexus 6
    edited April 2016
    I find it strange people are just deciding the i5 4590 is faster, when every website you check comparing the two in raw benchmarks the i7 2600k usually ties/nearly ties, without overclocking.

    https://www.cpubenchmark.net/compare.php?cmp[]=868&cmp[]=2234

    http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/502/Intel_Core_i5_i5-4590_vs_Intel_Core_i7_i7-2600K.html

    http://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Intel-Core-i7-2600K-vs-Intel-Core-i5-4590/621vs2604

    This ones probably the more damneding to my argument, showing the 4590 as a clear winner;
    http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i7-2600K-vs-Intel-Core-i5-4590

    But all in all, I'd like to say at worst, the 2600k is just as good as a 4590. At best, I can overclock this thing beyond what the 4590 can handle.

    I feel like there's a lot of "It's old so it's slower" bias going around, not realizing the i7 2600k was a beast of a processor when it was released. It's like comparing an old GTX580 to a GTX960. Sure, it's older, but the GTX580 ties the 960. Although I could argue with GPU technology the 960 has significantly better DX12 support. :)

  • Percy1983Percy1983 Posts: 1,410
    Wintermute
    Each generation has got better single thread performance per clock, as you say this can be overcome .

    Even your links all show the 4590 having better single thread performance, yes multi thread it has a slight advantage which will be due to HT on the i7 and not the i5.

    In short a stock 2600k does not pass the grade, with a modest overclock it will.
    Asrock Z77 Extreme 4 + 16GB RAM 1866mhz + i5-3570K at 4.5Ghz + Coolermaster Nepton 140XL cooler
    Sapphire 8GB RX 580 Nitro+
    256Gb SDD Samsung Evo 850 +3x2TB in raid 0 with 64GB SSD cache
    Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition + Toughpower 875w
  • Greenfire32Greenfire32 Posts: 364
    Trinity
    I'm really glad this thread exists. I know there was a problem with the USB ports where if you didn't have the right kind, the Rift wouldn't even bother turning on rather than giving sub-optimal performance.

    I was worried the same would be true for the i7 2600k, but sat on my pre-order anyway.

    Now that I know it won't just sit there refusing to work, I feel much better. And if anyone cares, every website that compares CPUs is telling me that the i7 2600k out performs the i5 4590 and all of the stand alone benchmark softwares I've used to test my rig for "Rift Ready" say that I should be more than capable of running it.
  • MradrMradr Posts: 3,348 Valuable Player
    One thing we over look is that neither the Vive nor Oculus testing software actually test the CPU. Even if you are getting above 90 FPS, there isn't any real world data going on there on the CPU side of things. It could be possible that the CPU at base isn't enough. It's a single thread application that is counting on a CPU that can handle it.

    Now, I wont say they have it right. I think they're just trying to be on the safe side of things and only recommending that you meet or above these settings. Other wise, I almost would say ~ get it and try it. At worst you would just have to upgrade. 
  • blanesblanes Posts: 1,067
    3Jane
    Real world tested & confirmed ... i7-2600k works brilliantly in VR. SteamVR test only confirms what is known. Oculus test is wrong and is not difficult for them to fix but they will not, probably because it is an old cpu. It also does not help when the main spokesman here, Cybereality tells wrong or misleading information about this specific cpu.
  • Lemming1970Lemming1970 Posts: 681
    Neo
    I don't see the issue? would you all rather they underestimated the specs and you had a bad experience?

    I've an old Xeon X5670, and while most experiences are amazing, I do believe it is holding my system back when playing Project cars. Not to the point that it's unusable, but I do have to turn settings down. I'm glad I knew in advance that this would probably be the case.

    Modded Coolermaster RC-1000 Cosmos/1000W Corsair HX Series
    i7 6700k o/c to 4.7ghz Corsair H100i water cooler.
    Zotac 1080Ti
    16 gb DDR4 o/c to 3000mhz
    Predator XB271HU 27" 2560x1440 IPS G-Sync 165Hz
  • blanesblanes Posts: 1,067
    3Jane
    It is simply incorrect information and it leads some people to unnecessarily go and buy upgrades when there is no immediate need. Certainly at some point we all upgrade but don't go and do it because a poorly implemented app tells you that it is needed when it clearly is not. It could be fixed and has been spoken about plenty but it is not and so you keep hearing people questioning it.  No problems at all with pCars and have played it since the very first build - not in VR back then though.
  • DreamwriterDreamwriter Posts: 1,101
    3Jane
    blanes said:
    It is simply incorrect information and it leads some people to unnecessarily go and buy upgrades when there is no immediate need. Certainly at some point we all upgrade but don't go and do it because a poorly implemented app tells you that it is needed when it clearly is not. It could be fixed and has been spoken about plenty but it is not and so you keep hearing people questioning it.  No problems at all with pCars and have played it since the very first build - not in VR back then though.
    How is it incorrect information? Can you show which benchmarks you are referencing that rated the 4590 as having worse single-threaded speed than a non-overclocked 2600k? The point is, Oculus had to set a minimum system, because they wanted to *guarantee* a certain level of performance to *all* Rift owners, that developers can rely on. Rift developers expect all Rift owners to have a 4590 or newer CPU.
  • I have an AMD 6300 overclocked from 3.5 to 4.2. 16gb ram, Asus Strix 980Ti (6gb) and i run everything maxed out with not a single issue. Its just what they advise you use.. doesnt bother me.
  • KangelosKangelos Posts: 102
    Hiro Protagonist
    I have a phenom II 1100T normally working at 3.8ghz, 8gb ram and Asus r9 280x and i rarely
    see my computer struggling in any CPU core.
    I am still using the DK2 which ofcourse is not the same (cv1 is 15fps more) and i am pretty sure i will have issues with the CV1. So far i can max most of the games i played and i am pretty sure that if i put a better GPU
    on the same system it will work like a charm with the CV1.

Sign In or Register to comment.

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories