cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I need some tips on UDK

Krisper
Level 2
I know this would probably be better on the Epic Games forums, but what I am trying to do is different than most UDK developers, and I think Oculus developers would have a better understanding.

I am totally new to UDK, have developed a lot with Unity and find it quite simple to use. But I don't plan on spending $1500 to get the Pro version for something that will most probably remain a hobby for me. So for the last few weeks I have been playing with UDK. I have followed quite a few tutorials but I am struggling and am not sure if I am going about this the right way at all. I am hoping some experienced UDK developers may be able to advise me.

I have integrated the razer hydra into UDK with some help from code samples Cymatic Bruce posted on his blog. I have no real understanding of the UDK pawn, and wasn't concerned about the players model at the moment so I used a couple of Actors with cube static meshes to represent my hands. These have NotifyRigidBodyCollision, BlockActors and CollideActors set true so I can tell when I am touching something.

When I start UDK I have my pawn spawn the 2 hands, and then I set the pawn as the hands base. Then I access the hydra data, calibrate the offsets and then have the hands positioned in front of the pawn. I can walk around and my hands are represented quite well and can move and rotate them in front of my pawn using the hydra data. I also use the SkelControl_CCD_IK to move the models hands around as well and they are pretty close to the cubes.

Next was to interact with objects. I made a rubber ball using a KActor set all of the physics and placed it in the world. Now I can move my hands, touch the ball and it moves. Touch and press the bumper button on the hydra and I can grab the ball by setting the hand as the balls base. Then I can throw the ball and it bounces around. Works well.