cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scan QR code with passthrough camera?

sean_yang0498
Honored Guest

Hello, Oculus community,

I am an internship student and I got a task to figure out if it's possible to get images from the passthrough cameras on Quest 2. The purpose is to scan a QR code for creating AR experiences. I don't have any development experience with Oculus and AR, but only some experience in Unity.

I googled it and saw some results. But most of them are posted months or even years before. So I am not sure how is it now in the latest update. I also noticed there are some project showcases that used the passthrough cameras for AR experiences, but none of them used the camera for scanning QR codes.

Is there a solution to my question? I really appreciate any help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

kojack
MVP
MVP

Sadly this is not possible.

The Oculus SDK doesn't provide any direct access to the cameras, there is no way to get pass through video. (This is for privacy reasons, imagine an unethical VR dev getting a feed of your cameras)

The passthrough API that you would have seen (with cool games like Hauntify) doesn't actually give the passthrough feed to the game. It stays in the runtime. The game can control where passthrough or game gfx are rendered, but it can't see what was rendered (it's not sent to Unity as a texture).

I want fiducial marker (like QR code) recognition for large area tracking (to correct for drift and sync multiple headsets to the same tracking space) but the only way to do it is stick a webcam to the Quest and use that (software support is going to be tricky though).

Author: Oculus Monitor,  Auto Oculus Touch,  Forum Dark Mode, Phantom Touch Remover,  X-Plane Fixer
Hardware: Threadripper 1950x, MSI Gaming Trio 2080TI, Asrock X399 Taich
Headsets: Wrap 1200VR, DK1, DK2, CV1, Rift-S, GearVR, Go, Quest, Quest 2, Reverb G2

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14

james_griffin_ibm